Skip navigation

I’ve just returned from a fantastic two week trip to Thailand. The highlight was eight days diving from a liveaboard around the Similan Island (I’ll write a separate post about this later), but I spent some time before and afterwards relaxing in Phuket and Bangkok. The day after I arrived we headed to Pantip Plaza, a huge 5-storey IT shopping mall in the Ratchathewi district of Bangkok. I spent a few hours checking out prices and tapping on all the different netbooks. I was considering buying a new lens for my D90 but prices were much higher than I expected; I think you could get better deal from UK suppliers over the internet. The same could be said for netbooks, though to be honest I’m going to wait until specs are a little higher before buying one. So I came away with a 100 baht (Β£2) torch containing 16 super bright LEDs, and this planet.

Pantip Plaza

A few days later we caught an Air Asia flight down to Phuket and headed out for the dive trip. This was great fun, but exhausting, so on our return we spent a few days exploring Phuket’s beaches. I’m not sure what this one’s called, but it was just south of Kata Noi on the west coast, and there’s a wind turbine on the hill at the south end. The sun was hot and the sand was nice, but for snorkelling give this one a miss.

phuket_beach_planet_800_85

The next day we headed to Patong beach. Patong is the main tourist beach in Phuket and has everything that you probably want to avoid when you’re on holiday – 24 hour McDonalds, Subway, Starbucks etc.. you get the picture. Just as we parked up it started raining so we didn’t stay long, which was no bad thing. If you visit Phuket I’d recommend giving this one a miss. The planet came out pretty well though, I do like a nice thick atmosphere.

patong_planet_800_85

Later that evening I flew back to Bangkok for a night of partying in the RCA district. I got to the airport pretty bleary eyed the following morning and managed to take a few more shots before I caught my flight home. The new Suvarnabhumi airport in Bangkok is impressive; a mixture of glass, steel and and lots of curves make it well suited to a fisheye lens. I grabbed one more planet before getting on my plane; this one probably took longest to stitch and it’s not quite perfect but I’m glad I put the effort in as I think it came out pretty well. The abstract swirls do however bring memories of my hangover flooding back!

airport_planet_800_852

3 Comments

  1. Its Nai Han beach… at the end of this video πŸ™‚

    http://revver.com/video/295546/rawai-streetsnai-han-beach/

    i’ve stayed for a few days at the next beach south, in fact its the southernmost one on phuket πŸ™‚

    i feel sick looking at the pantip plaza planetoid!

    love the suvarnabhumi airport one.

  2. Good detective work Jno πŸ™‚ We were staying at a friend’s house who lived about 5mins drive so we checked out most of the beaches in the south west corner.

    Pantip Plaza is quite a hectic place so the planet does it justice!

    The airport one is prob my fav. I love shinny new airports, I’m sure there’s a good planet waiting to be taken in LHR T5.

  3. maybe a daytrip is in order? πŸ™‚

    i fly from T3 on sunday meh!


Leave a Reply

