Skip navigation

Daily Archives: November 14th, 2008

A few hundred metres south of St. Paul’s Cathedral is the Millennium footbridge, a pedestrian-only steel suspension bridge spanning the river Thames. Disaster struck a few days after it opened when it was found to wobble dangerously when too many people crossing at once. The introduction of some dampers solved this problem, and you can now cross it without fear of it self-destructing.

under_the_bridge_planet_800x779_85

From the middle of the bridge you get a great view of London: to the north there’s the huge dome of St. Paul’s, and to the south you have the chimney of the Tate Modern gallery. East you can see the Tower 42 and the Gherkin, and west you can just about make out Westminster.

millenium bridge planet

I had a load of problems stitching the second shot. Firstly I had a duplicate of one of the images which caused issues (I still don’t think it should have done); next the control point generator did a really bad job,  the nadir didn’t stitch very well, I forgot to set lens type to fisheye, and there were lots of people crossing when I took it. After setting the control points manually, getting rid of the duplicate and setting it to fisheye, things went ok. And when I HDR-ified it with Dynamic Photo, the anti-ghosting tools worked really well. I left the blurry jogger in though, I think it looks cool.

