Skip navigation

The week after I got my new camera and Nodal Ninja tripod head, it rained. A lot. By thursday the clouds were still threatening, but I decided taking any more photos of my dog or fishtank wasn’t really justifying the rather large outlay I’d just made. So I took my gear and headed to a few places where I thought I could make some good panos. Being slightly unfamiliar with my camera, I accidentaly set it to shoot RAW only, so after about 5 planets, bracketed x 3, I’d filled up my SD card. As it turned out, the ‘memory card full’ message coincided with the heavens opening up, so I jumped on a train home to fired up Rawstudio, RawTherapee, Dynamic Photo HDR, and of course Hugin. Here’s some of what I came up with.

Hungerford Bridge planet

This is Hungerford bridge which spans the river Thames. After the footbridge was built in 2002, it was lit with fantastic, futuristic, blue lights on top of the pylons. I’ve got a real thing about blue lighting – I even took a soldering iron to my beloved Technics turntables to swap the red LEDs for blue ones. Anyway, I think this shot looks good with the warmth of orange lights, especially against the cold sky. I hope they put the blue ones back on sometime though.

St. Paul's planet

Next stop was St. Paul’s Cathedral. It was a little before rush hour so there weren’t too many people about, handy when you’re shooting HDR. Because I was pretty close up to it, you can’t see the huge dome which it’s famous for. I’ll have to get that another time from a different angle. I also missed out on visiting the Golden Gallery; only when I checked out the Wikipedia entry for Hugin did I realised what I’d missed. So two pretty good reasons to go back.

Leave a Reply

